The Geopark territory is an area that had experienced a plethora of social unrest in ancient times, in the Middle Ages, but also in its recent history. Traditional ethnic, religious and administrative communities were formed, disintegrated and reshaped. Each of these is important in its own way. Currently, the residents of Hațeg and those of each of the municipalities in Geopark, individually, represent the most well defined local communities in this territory.

Hațeg Town

Baru Commune

Bretea Română Commune

Densuș Commune

General Berthelot Commune

Pui Commune

Răchitova Commune

Râu de Mori Commune

Sarmizegetusa Commune

Sălașu de Sus Commune

Sântămăria Orlea Commune

Totești Commune